Introducing the 2014 Undergraduate of the Year winners

The 2014 winners

The winners of the 2014 TARGETjobs Undergraduate of the Year competition were announced by Sir Trevor McDonald OBE at a glittering ceremony in London. And what a list! Between them, these fantastic students have climbed mountains, set up businesses, won numerous other awards and raised thousands of pounds for charity. They are all excellent students – but they’ve done a lot more than study.

The Undergraduates of the Year come from degree backgrounds ranging from classics to physics and from universities from Strathclyde to Southampton, but what they all have in common is awe-inspiring energy, drive and dedication. The announcement of the awards created a flurry of activity on Twitter, with everybody involved keen to share their excitement.

The awards are run in association with CEB SHL Talent Measurement ™, a specialist in helping graduate recruiters assess, select and develop the right people using science-based assessments, benchmark data, technologies and consultancy services. They worked closely with all of the employers sponsoring the awards to devise processes that would help prioritise key skills and competencies.

The winners are the closest fit possible for the culture and work of the sponsoring employers, so if you want to get an idea of what top recruiters are looking for, take a look through the brief biographical details below.

Find out more about how to make yourself a top candidate for leading employers


Hear from past winners and finalists of the Undergraduate of the Year Awards. We asked them to reveal all about their experience, the application process and their tips for students thinking of following in their footsteps. Just click on the images to read their blogs.

Alan Middup Engineering

Alexander Hughes Law

Baran Ceylan Future Leader in Business

Brittany Harris Construction and Engineering

Bronwyn O'Neill Female

Celine Dischamps Low Carbon

Courtney Gill Female

David Timis Future Leader in Business

Derek Bekoe Computer Science

Divya Hariramani Engineering

James Ellis Languages

Jamie Cooper-Higgins Scotland

Mark Devine Mathematics, Economics and Finance

Michael Bristowe Engineering

Miklos Toth Commercial Excellence

Samantha Dartnall Management