Introducing the 2018 Undergraduate of the Year winners

The winners of the 2018 TARGETjobs Undergraduate of the Year competition were announced by Rachel Riley at a glittering ceremony in London. And what a list! Between them, these fantastic students have climbed mountains, set up businesses, won numerous other awards and raised thousands of pounds for charity. They are all excellent students – but they’ve done a lot more than study.

The Undergraduates of the Year come from degree backgrounds ranging from classics to physics and from universities from Exeter to St Andrews, but what they all have in common is awe-inspiring energy, drive and dedication. The announcement of the awards created a flurry of activity on social media, with everybody involved keen to share their excitement.

The awards are run in association with SHL Talent Measurement ™, a specialist in helping graduate recruiters assess, select and develop the right people using science-based assessments, benchmark data, technologies and consultancy services. They worked closely with all of the employers sponsoring the awards to devise processes that would help prioritise key skills and competencies.

The winners are the closest fit possible for the culture and work of the sponsoring employers, so if you want to get an idea of what top recruiters are looking for, take a look through the brief biographical details below.

Where are they now?

Hear from past winners and finalists of the Undergraduate of the Year Awards. We asked them to reveal all about their experience, the application process and their tips for students thinking of following in their footsteps. Just click on the images to read their blogs.

Abigael Bamgboye Female

Ana Groom Female

Arkadiusz Zadka Male

Arunita Roy Innovation

Arushi Madan Engineering

Ayesha Naser Management

Bonnie Sze Long Liu One to Watch

Charlie Francis Future Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Charlie Nightingale Future Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Christina Hadjiyianni One to Watch

Demi Ng Innovation

Edward Ashton Johnson Male

Eleanor Brown Impactful Social Action

Emmanuel De Labauve D’Arifat Male

Ewan High Male

Giorgio Collett One to Watch

Holly Hetherington Management

Igor Gawron Engineering

James McKevitt Innovation

Laura McElhinney Female

Lauren Wade Construction and Engineering

Liam Partridge Male

Marco Benedettelli Innovation

Meera Soni Mathematics, Economics and Finance

Mercy Ngulube Impactful Social Action

Mozomul Hoque Mathematics, Economics and Finance

Nadia Gjerdingen Female

Osman Salam Male

Polina Dergacova Mathematics, Economics and Finance

Rachel Hayden Construction and Engineering

Rachel Smith Management

Remy Martin Fashion Retail, Buying and Merchandising

Ryan Makuku Future Chief Financial Officer (CFO)

Sean Nicholas Sutiono One to Watch

Sophie Lycett Management

Sophie Rose Female

Victoria Stace Fashion Retail, Buying and Merchandising

Zara Loughridge Mathematics, Economics and Finance