Introducing the 2022 Undergraduate of the Year winners

Now in its 13th year, the targetjobs Undergraduate of the Year Awards brought together prominent employers and talented undergraduates for a prestigious awards ceremony presented by Sue Perkins on Friday 29 April 2022. And, this year, it was back in person.

The 12 awards were partnered by leading organisations: AECOM, CIMA, Clyde and Co, Clifford Chance, National Student Pride, Attitude, myGwork, One Young World, Enterprise Rent-A-Car, HSBC, Rolls-Royce, Skyscanner and Sky. There were fantastic prizes up for grabs for the students involved, including paid internships, meaningful networking meetings with senior executives and even graduate jobs.

This year there were almost 4,000 entries from over 140 different universities across the UK and so becoming one of the 120 student finalists is a huge achievement. The awards are an excellent opportunity for universities to showcase the calibre of undergraduates at their institution, while giving their students the chance to practise the graduate recruitment process and secure positions with internationally recognised organisations.

With all entrants completing an application, an online assessment with situational, numerical and inductive reasoning tests devised by SHL and an assessment day, the employers also have a pipeline of excellent potential candidates for future placements and graduate vacancies.

Both the finalists and the winners showcased an impressive range of skills, experiences and achievements, but what makes an Undergraduate of the Year? It can be hard to define – but all of this year’s winners have made a positive impact on the world around them, whether it involves founding their own charities, finding technical solutions to reach carbon neutrality, tutoring aspiring students from underrepresented backgrounds or championing women’s rights.

We were thrilled to be back in London and able to host the grand final in person and meet not only this year’s finalists and winners but also the winners from 2020 and 2021, who finally get to celebrate their achievements face to face rather than virtually.