Asset 4
Partnered by: 

Are you the Computer Science, IT and Physics Undergraduate of the Year?

We’re searching UK universities to find the outstanding Computer Science, IT and Physics Undergraduate of the Year. You must be highly driven, resourceful and results-orientated.


A spot on Visa’s summer internship programme! The top runners up will spend their summer working on challenging assignments and learning from Visa subject-matter experts. They will also attend an all-expenses paid trip to Destination Everywhere – Visa’s global intern summit in San Francisco. On top of this, the overall winner will have a choice of specialisms for their tech internship and will be taken on another international trip to take part in a new payments innovation happening at a global Visa office.


We are delighted to introduce the 2019 finalists for this award.

Alex Copeland | Lancaster University | Theoretical Physics

Darina Georgieva | University of Surrey | Computer science

Jonah McPartlin | University of Bristol | Computer Science

Luke Panayi | University of Sussex | Theoretical Physics

Mayank Surana | Imperial College London | Electronic and Information Engineering


Mehdi Naderi Varandi | Newcastle University | Computer Science

Patrick Kinnear | University of Edinburgh | Mathematics

Sandra Thiesen | Robert Gordon University | Computer Science

Wilfrid Askins | Newcastle University | Computer Science with Industrial Placement

Zoe Nengite | University of St Andrews | Computer Science

What makes an award winner?

Visa is looking for the next generation of technology leaders – dreamers, disruptors, creatives and trailblazers – who are fascinated by new technology and want to be empowered to change the way business is done. Our winner will:

  • be creative and entrepreneurial
  • be a game changer
  • be prepared to take risks
  • have plenty of integrity and curiosity
  • not shy away from solving problems
  • be able to work effectively in – and lead – a team
  • How do I win?


    Register your details online and answer two questions set by Visa.

    Must be completed by 30.01.19

    Online tests

    Receive an email inviting you to sit one online test designed exclusively by our partner SHL and the HackerRank coding test set by Visa.

    Must be completed by 30.01.19

    Submit by 30.01.19

    Your details must be submitted and all online tests completed by 30 January 2019.

    If you are successful in getting through to the next stage, you will hear from us by 25 February 2019.

    Assessment centre

    If you pass the online tests and successfully make it to the next stage your application will be reviewed by Visa.

    This stage will include a telephone interview, and an assessment centre in London on 25 February.

    Grand final

    The final shortlist of ten students will be invited to the awards ceremony at Canary Wharf, where the 2019 award winners will be announced!

    Visa and the Computer Science, IT and Physics Undergraduate of the Year Award

    Visa is a diverse community of dreamers, change agents and trailblazers who are helping drive economic growth across the world, creatively moving the industry forward, and doing meaningful work that brings financial literacy and digital commerce to millions of unbanked and underserved consumers.

    We’re sponsoring the Computer Science, IT and Physics Undergraduate of the Year Award to enable and inspire students interested in challenging the status quo to make their mark at Visa and beyond.

    Visit for more information.

Entry criteria

Asset 3