Are you the Mathematics, Economics and Finance Undergraduate of the Year?


We are pleased to announce the following finalists for the Mathematics, Economics and Finance Undergraduate of the Year Award. All 10 finalists of each award are invited to attend the final awards ceremony on 22nd April where the winner will be announced.

Rory Ainslie | Imperial College London | Masters in Science in Mathematics

David Boyd | University of Nottingham | Mathematics

Isaac Harbord | Oxford Brookes University | Economics, Finance and International Business

Antonia Hartshorn | University of Leeds | Mathematics

Tobias Holloway | University of Exeter | Mathematics

Fraser Holmes-Mackay | University of East Anglia | Mathematics

Alex Ly | University of Leicester | Economics

Van Nguyen | University of Manchester | Computer Science and Mathematics

Andreas Shahverdyan | University of St Andrews | Management Science and Mathematics

Joseph Simmonds | London School of Economics and Political Science, University of London | Mathematics and Economics

Entry criteria

We're searching UK universities to find the outstanding mathematics, economics and finance undergraduate. You must be ambitious, driven and talented with a ‘can do’ attitude.

To enter you must:

  • have the right to work in the UK after graduation.
  • be an undergraduate in your in your second year of a 3 year course or second or penultimate year of a 4 year course.
  • study mathematics, finance, economics or a business management related degree.
  • be expecting at least a 2.1.

What makes an award winner?

Although strong academics and relevant work experience help, being able to demonstrate aligning behaviours and skills is just as important. As well as a passion for working in the energy industry, you will also be able to support and demonstrate our values and behaviours, whilst striving for excellence and results in everything you do.

We are looking for driven, talented individuals whose skills, imagination and ‘can do’ attitude matches our own ambitions. These skills include problem solving, being independent, innovative and critical thinking, and thriving under pressure. The winner will be able to demonstrate drive, ambition, tenacity and resilience, alongside a collaborative working style. In addition, you must also show a commitment to self-development, self-management, and learning from mistakes, to ultimately develop your emerging leadership skills.

Closing date for entries is 9am Monday 1 February 2016.

Awards ceremony takes place on 22 April 2016 at Canary Wharf, London.

How do I win?

It’s not easy to win an Undergraduate of the Year Award and competition will be fierce. The process is demanding and only the truly outstanding and committed will make it to the last ten. There are three stages that you’ll have to get through.

Read more about last year's winner Katy Barlow.


Gazprom Marketing & Trading and the Mathematics, Economics and Finance Undergraduate of the Year

Gazprom Marketing & Trading (GM&T) aims to attract the brightest and the best graduates who can make a positive impact on the company and contribute to its growing success.

Headquartered in London, we're already a truly global organization with offices in the USA, Asia and across Europe with over 950 staff from more than 40 countries. With the ambition to become the world’s number one energy trading firm we need to continue to attract the very best talent. In the last three years we have put in place a graduate development programme that has seen us hire 70 exceptional graduates. Many have completed their first year with us and are already making highly valued contributions to our growth. Sponsoring the Undergraduate of the Year Award for Maths, Economics and Finance helps us identify the very brightest minds and in return give them a challenging yet truly rewarding experience as a GM&T intern.

We’re proud to say that our people genuinely enjoy working for us, and we’re committed to helping them develop their careers. Everyone within GM&T is given real freedom to think for themselves and showcase their talents. Our purpose is to give people the energy to succeed and we look forward to playing a role in helping you realise your potential.

Find out more about us and our graduate opportunities at:

Hear from our 2015 winner, Katy Barlow, in her own words:

Previous winner

Katy Barlow, Mathematics and Economics, University of St Andrews

Katy is a Maths and Economics student at the University of St Andrews. In 2014, she was awarded the Nisbet Prize for top performance in Management, and was also placed on the university’s Dean’s List for academic excellence. Katy represents second year Economics students on the staff student consultative committee. Her interests include sport climbing and skiing, and in 2010, she cycled across Switzerland. She has also played tennis for her county and currently captains the University of St Andrews athletics team.

Read more about last year's winner Katy Barlow.


Before you start your application

Before you begin please make sure you have read the criteria carefully on, checking the ‘Entry criteria’ and ‘How do I win?’ tabs for criteria details and information on the process.

Browser suitability

To enable you to take the tests you will need to make sure that:

  • flash player needs to be up to date, and the tests can be accessed on the following browsers:
    • Internet Explorer – Version 6.0 and higher (Windows PC Only)
    • Firefox – Version 2.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
    • Safari – Version 4.0 and higher (Mac only)
    • Google Chrome – Version 4.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
  • iPads, other tablets and smart phones are currently not supported.

Hints and tips

Give yourself enough time:

  • As part of the process you will be asked to answer some questions set by the awards partner. Take your time with these as they will be used as part of the longlisting process. Compose them in Microsoft word (or a similar programme), spell check and word count your answer before submitting into your application form.
  • You don’t have to complete everything in one go. Just remember to save everything as you go!
  • The tests themselves (up to 4 depending on the Awards category) should take no more than two hours to complete.
  • ALL stages must be submitted by 9am Monday 1 February 2016.
  • If you are not sure about anything then ask! You can contact us via email on
2016 awards are now closed