Are you the Future Business Leader of the Year?


We are pleased to announce the following finalists for the Future Business Leader of the Year Award. All 10 finalists of each award are invited to attend the final awards ceremony on 22nd April where the winner will be announced.

Tom Charman | University of Exeter | Economics and Politics with European Studies

Anna Kennedy | University of Aberdeen | Management Studies

Rachel Malik | University of Birmingham | Economic and Social History

Kayley Maxwell | Cardiff University | Business Management

Francesca Michaud | University of Exeter | Business & Management with Mandarin Chinese

Petr Perina | University of Glasgow | Business Economics and Business & Management

Sarahjane Sarkhosh | Glasgow Caledonian University | International Business with Business Law

Daniel Tait | Robert Gordon University | International Business Management

David Wagner | University of Strathclyde | Finance

Matthew Walls | University of York | Physics with Business Management

Entry criteria

We're searching UK universities to find the outstanding future business leader. You must be someone who enjoys leading, motivating and inspiring others.

To enter you must:

  • have the right to work in the UK after graduation.
  • be expecting at least a 2.1.
  • have at minimum of 300 UCAS points or equivalent.
  • be in your penultimate or final year of an undergraduate degree at a UK university.
  • show evidence of leadership ability, positions of responsibility, of exceeding expectations, seizing opportunities and driving change.

What makes an award winner?

The winner will be someone who can display a high level of business acumen, clearly understand basic business principles and who has a perspective of the challenges going on within the business world and the FMCG sector in particular.

You will be someone who enjoys leading, motivating and inspiring others. You should value the different viewpoints others can bring and be able to flex your own style to build effective relationships easily.

You should have a good level of self-awareness, able to articulate your strengths while also being comfortable talking about areas for development. You should have a clear view as to the type of leader they want to be and why.

You should be creative in your thinking, coming up with ideas, identifying opportunities and turning them into reality. You shouldn’t be afraid to take risks and have the drive to plot your way through problems and overcome challenges to deliver exceptional results.

Closing date for entries is 28 January 2016.

Awards ceremony takes place on 22 April 2016 at Canary Wharf, London.

How do I win?

It’s not easy to win the Undergraduate of the Year Award and competition will be fierce. The process is demanding and only the truly outstanding and committed will make it to the last ten. There are three stages that you’ll have to get through.

Read more about last year's winner Lynne Howie.


Mars and the Future Business Leader of the Year

Mars has an excellent track record in developing great leaders who have gone on to lead businesses both within Mars and other large UK and global corporations. We have a strong development culture and view our graduate talent as playing a vital role in securing the future success of the business.

Consequently we have a lot of experience in identifying and nurturing great future talent and see the Future Business Leader award as an excellent way of identifying and supporting students by providing an insight into our business, access to our senior leaders and opportunities to gain experience. We see the award as a great initiative, set up to recognise and inspire future leaders and we love being able to play a part in helping individuals begin to realise their leadership potential.

Find out more about us and our graduate opportunities at:

Hear from our 2015 winner, Lynne Howie, in her own words:

Previous winner

Lynne Howie, Economics and Finance, University of Strathclyde

Lynne Howie is a fourth year Economics and Finance student at the University of Strathclyde. Awarded a Saltire Scholarship in 2014, Lynne worked in Texas with Rolls Royce and American Airlines as their Customer Business Intern. In addition she has worked for Gleneagles hotel over two summers and most recently during the famous Ryder Cup event in 2014. With an entrepreneurial family background, Lynne has her sights set high. She aspires to one day start up a ‘business with heart’, leading a team of associates whilst inspiring the generations to follow. A fitness fanatic and health enthusiast, she leads a very active lifestyle too.

Read more about last year's winner Lynne Howie.


Before you start your application

Before you begin please make sure you have read the criteria carefully on, checking the ‘Entry criteria’ and ‘How do I win?’ tabs for criteria details and information on the process.

Browser suitability

To enable you to take the tests you will need to make sure that:

  • flash player needs to be up to date, and the tests can be accessed on the following browsers:
    • Internet Explorer – Version 6.0 and higher (Windows PC Only)
    • Firefox – Version 2.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
    • Safari – Version 4.0 and higher (Mac only)
    • Google Chrome – Version 4.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
  • iPads, other tablets and smart phones are currently not supported.

Hints and tips

Give yourself enough time:

  • As part of the process you will be asked to answer some questions set by the awards partner. Take your time with these as they will be used as part of the longlisting process. Compose them in Microsoft word (or a similar programme), spell check and word count your answer before submitting into your application form.
  • You don’t have to complete everything in one go. Just remember to save everything as you go!
  • The tests themselves (up to 4 depending on the Awards category) should take no more than two hours to complete.
  • ALL stages must be submitted by MIDNIGHT on Thursday 28 January 2016.
  • If you are not sure about anything then ask! You can contact us via email on
The 2016 awards are now closed