Are you the Law Undergraduate of the Year?

Entry criteria

We're searching the best universities in the UK to find the outstanding law undergraduate. We're looking for a winning mix of personal skills, career motivation and an excellent academic record.

To enter you must:

  • be a penultimate year undergraduate at a UK university.
  • study law.
  • be predicted to achieve least a 2.1.
  • have the right to work in the UK outside of term time.

Closing date for entries is 4 February 2015.

Awards ceremony takes place on 24 April 2015 at Canary Wharf, London.

How do I win?

It’s not easy to win the Undergraduate of the Year Award and competition will be fierce. The process is demanding and only the truly outstanding and committed will make it to the last ten. There are three stages that you’ll have to get through.

Read more about why last years winner Alexander Hughes thinks you should apply.

Mayer Brown

Mayer Brown and the Law Undergraduate of the Year

As a leading global law firm, we provide solutions to the increasingly complex global challenges our clients face, drawing on a wide range of legal and commercial experience. To sustain and build on our success we are seeking lawyers who are keen to make a genuine contribution to the future of the business. We begin our search for talent at undergraduate level and by sponsoring this award, we can access a wide pool of talented individuals who want to be part of our successful team.

What makes an award winner?

We are looking for well-rounded candidates who not only have a strong academic record but who also have a wide range of interests and achievements outside their academic career. Additionally, we would like to see innovative candidates who can demonstrate a drive for results, good verbal and written communication skills, an ability to analyse, good judgement, thoroughness, client focus and excellent interpersonal skills.

Find out more about us and our graduate programmes at:

Previous winner

Alexander Hughes, LLB (European Legal Studies), University of Southampton

Alexander regularly participates in mooting and negotiation competitions, notably reaching the Grand Final of the Thomas Finlay International Mooting Competition in Dublin. He has mentored first year law students as well as sixth-form students in the local area. Alex’s academic achievements have been recognised through receiving two law school prizes for his performance in his most recent examinations. He plays rugby at University and his various work experiences have led him to pursue a career in Commercial Law.

Read more about why last years winner Alexander Hughes thinks you should apply.