Are you the Construction, Engineering & Design Undergraduate of the Year?


We are pleased to announce the following finalists for the Construction, Engineering & Design Undergraduate of the Year Award. All 10 finalists of each award are invited to attend the final awards ceremony on 22nd April where the winner will be announced.

Nevsky Been | Nottingham Trent University | Architectural Technology

Harry Brace | University of Leeds | Civil and Structural Engineering

Philip Cohen | University of Nottingham | Mechanical Engineering

Scott Dalton | University of Brighton | Civil Engineering

Emily Gibson | University of Bristol | Civil Engineering

Joshua Mason | University of Portsmouth | Civil Engineering

Andrew Provost | Loughborough University | Architectural Engineering and Design Management

Amandeep Saini | University of Strathclyde | MEng Strucutral and Architectural Engineering

Jimboy Tolentino | University of Manchester | Master of Planning and Real Estate

Calum Van Nuill | Heriot-Watt University | Civil Engineering

Entry criteria

We're searching UK universities to find the outstanding construction engineering and design undergraduate. You must be a creative thinker, natural problem solver and someone who likes to challenge the status quo.

To enter you must:

  • be a penultimate year undergraduate at a UK university.
  • be a UK or EU national.
  • study Quantity Surveying, Construction, Civil, Mechanical, Electrical, or Architectural Engineering related degrees.
  • be expecting at least a 2.1.

What makes an award winner?

We’re looking for people who share our passion for ‘challenging and changing’ the industry. So, you’ll be the kind of person who likes to shake up the status quo – because you know there’s a better way and you’re determined to find it. You’ll be a creative thinker and a natural problem solver. Your keen interest in the industry means you’ll be up to speed with the latest developments and newest techniques.

But project delivery is a 'team sport' so you’ll need excellent communication skills. You won’t be afraid to play an active (even leading) role – and your initiative and drive will come to the fore in the face of a challenge. But, you will also be able to work as part of a group, listen to and learn from others around you.

Closing date for entries is 9am 1 February 2016.

Awards ceremony takes place on 22 April 2016 at Canary Wharf, London.

How do I win?

It’s not easy to win an Undergraduate of the Year Award and competition will be fierce. The process is demanding and only the truly outstanding and committed will make it to the last ten. There are three stages that you’ll have to get through to reach the final.

Read more about last year's winner Jessica Dowdy.

Laing O'Rourke

Laing O'Rourke and the Construction Engineering and Design Undergraduate of the Year

At Laing O’Rourke we believe talent should be celebrated. We know there are some pretty amazing undergraduates out there – and think it’s time to shine a spotlight on their achievements. That’s why - once again - we’re sponsoring the Construction Engineering and Design Award in the 2016 TARGETjobs Undergraduate of the Year Awards.

What’s in it for us? Well, we get to engage with students, like you, from universities across the UK. We’ll challenge you to think creatively about the future of our sector – and share our insights into the latest developments in project delivery. We’ll show you the many different opportunities open to you – and hopefully inspire you to continue on to a career in our industry.

What’s in it for you? In addition to receiving the recognition of respected industry figures, you’ll be in the running for a summer work placement on one of our projects overseas. Through the selection process, you’ll also gain first-hand experience of the recruitment methods used by major companies like Laing O’Rourke – putting you ahead of many of your peers. But, most importantly, with an award like this in the bag, you’ll be well on your way to a successful future.

Find out more about us and our graduate opportunities at:

Hear from our 2015 winner, Jessica Dowdy, in her own words:

Previous winner

Jessica Dowdy, Construction Project Management, Oxford Brookes University

Jessica is a Construction Project Management Student at Oxford Brookes University, currently completing an industrial placement as an Assistant Project Leader. As the National Award Winner of the Women in Property Student Awards 2014, she has contributed significantly during her time at university through establishing and leading the Oxford Brookes University Construction Society in addition to becoming student representative for her course. She was also the recipient of the ‘Best Student Award’ for both first and second year. She has completed work experience in Dubai and ran the Oxford Half Marathon, raising £1,664 for Thames Valley and Chiltern Air Ambulance.

Read more about last year's winner Jessica Dowdy.


Before you start your application

Before you begin please make sure you have read the criteria carefully on, checking the ‘Entry criteria’ and ‘How do I win?’ tabs for criteria details and information on the process.

Browser suitability

To enable you to take the tests you will need to make sure that:

  • flash player needs to be up to date, and the tests can be accessed on the following browsers:
    • Internet Explorer – Version 6.0 and higher (Windows PC Only)
    • Firefox – Version 2.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
    • Safari – Version 4.0 and higher (Mac only)
    • Google Chrome – Version 4.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
  • iPads, other tablets and smart phones are currently not supported.

Hints and tips

Give yourself enough time:

  • As part of the process you will be asked to answer some questions set by the awards partner. Take your time with these as they will be used as part of the longlisting process. Compose them in Microsoft word (or a similar programme), spell check and word count your answer before submitting into your application form.
  • You don’t have to complete everything in one go. Just remember to save everything as you go!
  • The tests themselves (up to 4 depending on the Awards category) should take no more than two hours to complete.
  • ALL stages must be submitted by 9am Monday 1st February 2016.
  • If you are not sure about anything then ask! You can contact us via email on
2016 awards are now closed