Are you the Future CFO of the Year?


We are pleased to announce the following finalists for The Future CFO of the Year Award. All 10 finalists of each award are invited to attend the final awards ceremony on 22nd April where the winner will be announced.

Molly Ashton | University of Nottingham | Finance, Accounting & Management

Chirag Vadhia | University of York | Philosophy, Politics & Economics

Amrit Bains | University of Birmingham | Business Management

Arshia Hashemi | University College London, University of London | Economics

Daniel Fox | Durham University | Natural Sciences (Physics and Philosophy)

Fraser Turner | Cardiff University | Chemistry

Martin Li | University of Warwick | Economics

Colton Morris | Imperial College London | Materials Science & Engineering

Richard Winter | University of York | Economics and Finance

Myo-Myetchae Thu | University of Birmingham | Accountancy

Entry criteria

We're searching UK universities to find the future CFO of the year. You must be ambitious, commercially minded and with a strong interest in the value finance can bring to a business.

To enter you must:

  • have the right to work in the UK after graduation.
  • be an undergraduate student at a UK University.
  • be in your penultimate year.
  • be studying a degree related to business, accountancy and finance, maths or economics.
  • show evidence of leadership ability, be commercially minded and have a strong interest in the value finance can bring to a business.
  • have a minimum of 300 UCAS points.
  • be expecting at least a 2.1.

What makes an award winner?

The winner of the Future CFO of the Year award will have the ambition to make their mark and make a difference.

You will be innovative, forward thinking and tenacious about planning your future and making the most out of every opportunity.

If you’re ambitious, commercially minded and with a strong interest in the value finance can bring to a business then ACCA want to hear from you!

Closing date for entries is 9am Monday 1 February 2016.

Awards ceremony takes place on 22 April 2016 at Canary Wharf, London.

How do I win?

It’s not easy to win an Undergraduate of the Year Award and competition will be fierce. The process is demanding and only the truly outstanding and committed will make it to the last ten. There are three stages that you’ll have to get through to reach the final.

Read more about last year's winner Aataullah Naser.


ACCA and the Future CFO of the Year

ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) is the qualification and professional network for those seeking a rewarding career in business. Globally recognized and business-relevant, our qualification is in demand by top employers. ACCA prepares members to excel in a complex and rapidly changing business environment across all industries and sectors.

Win a Trip to Europe. ACCA will take you on a whistle-stop tour of Europe, visiting some of their key offices, meeting CFOs of major organisations working with ACCA, getting insight into different business sectors with plenty of networking opportunities. There will of course be time for sightseeing and sunshine. This is a money-can’t-buy, career-making prize for one outstanding undergraduate!

Find out more about us and our graduate opportunities at:

Hear from our 2015 winner, Aataullah Naser, in his own words:

Previous winner

Aataullah Naser, Masters of Mathematics, University of Manchester

Aataullah is studying for a Masters of Mathematics degree. After receiving the Hong Kong Foundation Scholarship, he became a scholarship ambassador working with the Alumni Relations office to help secure funding for scholarships at Manchester University.

Working with the University finance team, Aataullah began a project to make highly valuable medical equipment at the University become more accessible to research groups and allow collaboration between other leading universities in the North West. Aataullah belongs to many societies, including the Manchester Model United Nations society where he won an “outstanding delegate” award at a national conference in Leeds.

Read more about last year's winner Aataullah Naser.


Before you start your application

Before you begin please make sure you have read the criteria carefully on, checking the ‘Entry criteria’ and ‘How do I win?’ tabs for criteria details and information on the process.

Browser suitability

To enable you to take the tests you will need to make sure that:

  • flash player needs to be up to date, and the tests can be accessed on the following browsers:
    • Internet Explorer – Version 6.0 and higher (Windows PC Only)
    • Firefox – Version 2.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
    • Safari – Version 4.0 and higher (Mac only)
    • Google Chrome – Version 4.0 and higher (Windows PC or Mac)
  • iPads, other tablets and smart phones are currently not supported.

Hints and tips

Give yourself enough time:

  • As part of the process you will be asked to answer some questions set by the awards partner. Take your time with these as they will be used as part of the longlisting process. Compose them in Microsoft word (or a similar programme), spell check and word count your answer before submitting into your application form.
  • You don’t have to complete everything in one go. Just remember to save everything as you go!
  • The tests themselves (up to 4 depending on the Awards category) should take no more than two hours to complete.
  • ALL stages must be submitted by 9am Monday 1 February 2016.
  • If you are not sure about anything then ask! You can contact us via email on
2016 awards are now closed